Select a currency:  

Digital Art / New Media > Installation

Visionaries 21 : The Music Machines by Bosch & Simons, 1989-2012

Visionaries 21 : The Music Machines by Bosch & Simons, 1989-2012


Streaming Price (1 year) $220
Streaming Price (3 years) $528
Digital Sale, with 5 years free streaming
  *please contact us for details.

  View Basket  

  • Description / Preview
  • About the Artists
  • Availability


The DVD set is a unique compilation of the works conceived and created by Peter Bosch and Simone Simons between 1989 – 2012.

Inspired by the physicist Nikola Tesla's legendary experiments in 1896, Bosch & Simons have produced a large series of works based on vibration and resonance. They created installations in museums, at International Symposiums on Electronic Art, concert halls and international electronic music conferences around the world. They turn their extensive artistic research into complex, unpredictable systems, into pieces which are part physics experiments and part new-media installations.

“Alongside unstable balances and order and chaos, another element is sound. The pure power of sound and the pure existence of sound (music) manifest remains an integral part of the installations we create. The medium sound gives power over a specific place, it occupies that space: Our vibratory projects permit us to generate vibrations with which we can fill the space. Sound waves are after all vibrations!” (Bosch & Simons)

While working on the theme “Resonances stimulated by mechanical vibrations” their main interest was not to amplify just one existing frequency, but to create a complex system in which various frequencies influence each other. This to give rise to unstable balances, which the slightest change could disturb, enough to produce an unpredictable outcome. Mechanically produced vibrations and natural frequencies of objects are so attuned to each other that the movements and sounds created by the installations can change almost imperceptibly from order into chaos and vice versa.

1. Interview at Ars Electronica, Linz, 1998
2. Was der Wind zum Klingen bringt, 
Multimediale2, ZKM, Karlsruhe, 1991 
3. Electric Swaying Orchestra, TARt ´91, University of Twente, Enschede, 1991 
4. Trajectversterker, Rijksmuseum Twenthe, Enschede, 1993 / Vooruitgang, Argument,Tilburg, 1994 
5. Krachtgever, Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam, 1995 
6. A Castle for Kobe I and IV, studio, Chelva, 1996, Universidad Politécnica, Valencia, 1999
7. Cantan un Huevo, Metrònom, Barcelona, 2001-02  
8. Último Esfuerzo Rural II, Stenersen Museum, Oslo, 2004 / Metrònom, Barcelona, 2005 
9. Springtime in a Small Town, KLANKENBOS, Neerpelt, 2006 
10. Último Esfuerzo Rural I, Re:New, Huset i Magstraede, Copenhagen, 2008

1. Retrospective Bosch & Simons, Espace Pommier, La Tour du Pin, 2009
2. Aguas Vivas, 2003-2009
3. Bang Spring Time, Forja Arte Contemporáneo, Valencia, 2009
4. Chutes Libres du Printemps, Gare de St Sauveur, Lille, 2010
5 Bang Spring Time, Transitio, Fonoteca Nacional, Mexico-City, 2011
6 Mirlitones, Kunst Werkt, Dordtyart, Dordrecht, 2012
7. Wilberforces, Winter Sparks, FACT, Liverpool, 2012

More images are here.

Buy the entire Visionaries 21 Collection and save 10%!


Peter Bosch (1958) studied psychology at the Universities of Leiden and Amsterdam (1976-‘83) and thereafter studied sonology at the Royal Conservatory in The Hague (1986-‘87).

Simone Simons (1961) studied at the audiovisual department of the Gerrit Rietveld Art Academy in Amsterdam (1980-‘85). Since 1997 they work and live in Valencia, Spain.

Bosch and Simons have been collaborating since 1985. Beginning with performances, concerts and theatre productions, since 1990, they have focused in particular on the development of autonomous "music machines". All their machines are dynamic: sound and movement are in constant development.

Their website for further information:

Item is available worldwide.

Similar Titles in Installation

Choose a subject area below