Select a currency:  

Film / Cinema > Australian Cinema

The John Hughes Collection - Early Works

7 film by John Hughes

> Pay by Credit Card, PayPal
> Submit Purchase Order (approved institutes only)

The John Hughes Collection - Early Works


DVD Price $600

  View Basket  

  • Description / Preview
  • About the Artists
  • Reviews
  • Availability

7-DVD Set of most of the early works of acclaimed Australian documentary and drama film director John Hughes.

Includes political and social documentaries such as After Mabo, the feature film What I Have Written, the experimental essay film All That is Solid, and a collection of short films.

The John Hughes Collection - Early Works includes the following DVDs:

River of Dreams
After Mabo

Essay documentaries:
All That is Solid
One Way Street: Fragments for Walter Benjamin

Feature film:
What I Have Written

Short films:
John Hughes Short Films

John Hughes is one of Australia’s most respected documentary (and drama) film directors, his work having won many awards. The films are usually Australian in orientation, examining art, cultural politics and history.  The work is often intensely research driven; the films are serious investigations into their material. Also they have cinematic creative flair.  His credits are numerous, starting in the early ‘70s with short films such as Nowhere Game, through to acclaimed documentaries in the ‘80s such as Film-Work, to the narrative feature What I Have Written in the ‘90s, and onto the recent award-winning documentaries The Archive Project (2006) and Indonesia Calling: Joris Ivens In Australia (2009).

Hughes was honored with Film Australia’s coveted Stanley Hawes Award, for Achievement In Documentary in 2006, and the inaugural Joan Long Award from the Australian and New Zealand Film History Association (2006).

Awards for films in the Box Set (select list):

One Way Street -1993 ATOM ‘Innovation’ Award
What I Have Written -Winner, Best Film, Mystfest, Italy, 2006.
After Mabo - Winner, Open Craft Award for Visual Design (John Hughes & Uri Mizrahi), AFI Awards 1998.
River of Dreams - United Nations Award for ‘Best TV Environmental Reporting ATOM Award, Best tertiary resource.
All That is Solid - Winner, Award, Chicago Film Festival, 1989.
November Eleven - 1979 Television Society of Australia, Penguin Award
Nowhere Game - AFI Award (Bronze), 1972.

John Hughes has a unique film style.He layers images and texts using a Dadaist technique to provoke a critical reading of the film.  This makes his films complex to watch because they work outside a familiar film language and do not meet our expectations.  Hughes likes to challenge the viewer on all levels.” – Catherine Gough-Brady, Dox Magazine, Winter 2009.

Item is available worldwide.

Similar Titles in Australian Cinema

Choose a subject area below