Select a currency:  

Film / Cinema > Award / Festival


> Pay by Credit Card, PayPal
> Submit Purchase Order (approved institutes only)



DVD Price $55
For institutional use please change License type or contact us.

  View Basket  

  • Description / Preview
  • About the Artists
  • Reviews
  • Availability


The film is a lyrical treatment of Homer’s tale of Penelope, depicting her psychological struggle as she waits twenty years for her husband to return from the Trojan War.
It draws on the long-take filmmaking style of film directors such as Andrei Tarkovsky (The Mirror), Akira Kurosawa (Seven Samurai) and Bela Tarr (Werckmeister Harmonies). Director Ben Ferris and Director of Photography James Barahanos also embrace this style in their short films Ascension and The Kitchen.
In Ferris’ mythical tale of Penelope, the technique is used as a dramatic device that experiments with time and space to build the tension and sense of nostalgia experienced by the waiting heroine. Penelope presents performances that have been choreographed to a hauntingly beautiful score by renowned film composer Max Richter (Shutter Island, Stranger Than Fiction, Waltz With Bashir).
The film premiered at the 4th One Take Film Festival in Zagreb Croatia as the Opening Night film, following in the footsteps of Alexander Sukurov’s long-take masterpiece Russian Ark which opened the inaugural festival in 2003. Penelope screened at the 56th Pula Film Festival in 2009 and was awarded the Van Gogh Award for Best Fantasy Film at the 2010 Amsterdam Film Festival. Ben has previously won awards for his one-take short films, winning the Grand Prix at the 2004 One Take Film Festival and the Grand Prix at the Inaugural Akira Kurosawa Memorial Short Film Festival in Tokyo in 2005.

Penelope, starring Natalie Finderle in the lead role and Croatian actor Frano Maškovic as Odysseus, is the first Australian-Croatian co-production.

Language: Croatian (with English subtitles)

Rated: MA 15+


Sarah Kirkland Snider is an American composer of critically acclaimed chamber, orchestral, and choral music

“Hypnotic, moody, melancholy and very beautiful, Ferris’s Penelope sits somewhere between art gallery installation, experimental film and box office”, Rosalie Higson, The Australian, Australia

“a film that warrants patient attentiveness to yield its subtleties and pleasures”, Keith Gallasch, Realtime Magazine, Australia

“Blurring the lines between dreams and reality, as well as the boundaries separating the past, present and future, Ferris creates an immersive world, which succeeds in transporting the audience into the anguished headspace of the female protagonist”, Cara Nash, Filmink Magazine, Australia

“Ferris gives the Penelope of Homer a new meaning, closer to contemporary female roles: the woman who tends the bow and faces misery with her own arrows, without losing sensitivity and the longing to be loved”, Melissa Navarro, Mexican Film, Mexico

Item is available worldwide.
Ship in 2-3 days

Similar Titles in Award / Festival

  • Mallacoota Stampede

    Mallacoota Stampede Film of Peter Tammer
    Year: 1981-2010, 60 mins


  • De Nooijer: Dutch Master

    De Nooijer: Dutch Master Red Avocado
    Year: 2011, 181 mins


  • River of Dreams

    River of Dreams Film by John Hughes
    Year: 1999, 52 mins


  • Triptych

    Triptych Three experimental, impressionist films by Peter Tammer.
    Year: 1985-2010, 57 mins


  • Innocence

    Innocence Film by Paul Cox
    Year: 2000, 91 mins


  • Lovesick

    Lovesick Film by Bill Mousoulis
    Year: 2002, 70 mins


  • Between Us

    Between Us Film by Bill Mousoulis
    Year: 1989, 37 mins


  • Film-Work / Menace

    Film-Work / Menace Films by John Hughes
    Year: 1981 and 1976, 111 mins


  • Blue Notes

    Blue Notes Film by Bill Mousoulis
    Year: 2006, 93 mins


  • Indonesia Calling: Joris Ivens In Australia

    Indonesia Calling: Joris Ivens In Australia Film by John Hughes
    Year: 2009, 103 mins


  • A Woman

    A Woman's Tale Film by Paul Cox
    Year: 1991, 93 mins


  • Hand & Eye

    Hand & Eye Year: 2000 - 2004, 25 mins


Choose a subject area below