Select a currency:  

Dance > Dancers

Merce Cunningham Dance Company

Robert Rauschenberg Collaborations: Suite for Five, Summerspace, Interscape - 3 Disc Set

> Pay by Credit Card, PayPal
> Submit Purchase Order (approved institutes only)

Merce Cunningham Dance Company


DVD Price $175

  View Basket  

  • Description / Preview
  • Availability

In 1954, Robert Rauschenberg became the Resident Designer to the Merce Cunningham Dance Company, a position he held for ten years. During that time these friends and collaborators, along with the musician John Cage, created some of the most iconoclastic artworks of the 20th century.
This three-DVD set showcases these great artists' work, along with the work of another, filmmaker Charles Atlas. The DVDs are accompanied by an illustrated essay by Bonnie Brooks. Charles Atlas has directed and collaborated on over 35 film or video projects with Merce Cunningham and served as the company's filmmaker-in-residence for ten years (1974-1983).

Suite for Five (1956) is one of Cunningham's most enduring explorations of time and space. Combined with Cage's chance-derived score and Rauschenberg's costumes and design, the work is a classic of the choreographer's repertoire. In Summerspace (1958) each creative element—Morton Feldman's score, Rauschenberg's décor and costumes, and Cunningham's choreography—were conceived and created independently of one another. Despite this separation, the elements meld to give the audience an impression of a balmy summer day. Interscape (2000) explores the transitions between darkness and light, stillness and exertion, and silence and sound. A detailed and beautifully rendered work, Interscape showcases the essence of the artists Cage, Cunningham and Rauschenberg.

Suite for Five (Total Running Time: 25:58)
Summerspace (Total Running Time: 22:05)
Interscape (Total Running Time: 47:05)

Item is available worldwide.
2-3 weeks

Similar Titles in Dancers

Choose a subject area below