Select a currency:  

Film / Cinema > Australian Cinema

Australian Alternative Film Culture - 3 Volume

Films by John Hughes

> Pay by Credit Card, PayPal
> Submit Purchase Order (approved institutes only)

Australian Alternative Film Culture - 3 Volume


DVD Price $500

  View Basket  

  • Description / Preview
  • About the Artists
  • Availability

Save by purchasing these three major works in a set:

The Archive Box / Archive Project (Normally $320 University)
a three DVD box set, provides an in-depth encounter with the stories, sources and contexts of Melbourne’s Realist film movement, including the feature documentary The Archive Project. (Normally $320 University)

Film-Work / Menace (Normally $250 for University)
Disc1. Film Work Between 1953 and 1958 the Waterside Workers Federation Film Unit made eleven documentary films. Film-Work examines scenes from four of these films and discusses their cultural and historical significance with the film units’ members Norma Disher, Keith Gow and Jock Levy.
Disc 2. Menace (1976, 68 minutes)
The early cold war years in Australia were characterized by attempts to suppress political dissent including banning of the Communist Party. In Menace we see the experience from the perspective of those who defended democratic freedoms.

Indonesia Calling: Joris Ivens in Australia (Normally $250 for University)
recalls the birth of Indonesia, and the impact of a small film, made at a moment of crisis, on Australia’s relations with its northern neighbor and its legacy for Australian documentary film culture.

John Hughes is one of Australia’s most respected documentary (and drama) film directors, his work having won many awards. The films are usually Australian in orientation, examining art, cultural politics and history.  The work is often intensely research driven; the films are serious investigations into their material. Also they have cinematic creative flair.  His credits are numerous, starting in the early ‘70s with short films such as Nowhere Game, through to acclaimed documentaries in the ‘80s such as Film-Work, to the narrative feature What I Have Written in the ‘90s, and onto the recent award-winning documentaries The Archive Project (2006) and Indonesia Calling: Joris Ivens In Australia (2009).

Hughes was honored with Film Australia’s coveted Stanley Hawes Award, for Achievement In Documentary in 2006, and the inaugural Joan Long Award from the Australian and New Zealand Film History Association (2006).

Item is available worldwide.

Similar Titles in Australian Cinema

Choose a subject area below